Silly Geldings, Full of Wisdom.

Ink and I in 2009 :).

When I first got Reason, he was a bit of an over sized baby.  I say that with the best intentions of course.  When I got Ink he was, almost, a veteran racehorse.  Retiring at the rip old age of 6 with 29 starts under his belt.  He was a wise 6 year old.  I looked at him in awe.  Yes, Ink was a tough big guy.  I still saw a teddy bear, a gentle soul, no matter what anyone said.

When I brought him home, he stayed in a stall with attached paddock.  During feeding time he would pin his ears and sometimes charge the door.  You could not mess with him during feeding time.  Even when the people around me were a little bit more than concerned with his abrupt and occasional aggressive behavior, to me I could see fairly easily the horse he was.

Ink looking pleased with himself as he shows me how he can hold his own lead rope now.

Ink’s very direct, very particular behavior was something I loved and appreciated most about him.  I respected the fact that he didn’t like grooming, but eventually won him over when I discovered his favorite sweet spot.  On his belly, by his belly button, you could scratch him and he’d stretch his neck out, purse his upper lip, lift his leg and stand there until your arm got tired.  Needless to say, I got some good laughs during our time together.  He was one cool guy.

Ink (1999-2010) snoozing in his hoof-crafted bed he made at the end of his paddock in 2009.

Ink was also very direct with people.  He saw right through them and I’d always recognize why he didn’t care for certain people.  If he liked you, I’d like you too.  I trusted his judgement.  If you were scared, mean, or negative, you’d get a dose full of the same in return, when dealing with him.  He was like a window into people and it was easy for me to see through.  He was my protector as was I his.

'Hey you!"

But then there is Reason.  He’s more of the artistic horse rather than the businessman (with heart I might add) that Ink was.  He’s flashy and always likes to be the center of attention.  He’s fun and he’s silly.

Yesterday I went to blanket the horses during the evening.  Luckily I made it before the rain came down enough to dampen their coats enough, preventing them from getting to wear their attire.  I put Reason’s cooler on to help him dry from the bits of rain that hit his coat, as we were inside the ‘pony cottage’.  I laid the cooler over his back, lengthening it out.  As I situated the side, Reason took hold of the loose front flap and began to creatively, pull it over in front of his chest.  Although I should have quickly went to fasten it just in case, I couldn’t help but stand there for a moment and watch as this very smart horse, tried make an effort to fasten up his own blanket.  It was hilarious!  Those little moments are part of what makes horses so much fun.  I’ve always been told how much personality, heart and intelligence Thoroughbreds have.  I’ve now experienced that and can say it’s something that will make me keep coming back to this breed (along with other things) time after time.

One beautiful animal.
"I loves my blankies!"
One thought on “Silly Geldings, Full of Wisdom.

  1. It took FOREVER for Bar to be relaxed during grooming. I think horses that have raced will always associate grooming with racing.

    Now, however, after several many sessions that involved grooming only, he is relaxed about the whole thing.

    Too relaxed sometimes, but I’ll take it.

Leave a Reply

