A Month Past.

It’s been a month since Ink passed away.  It feels like so long ago, but then again, it feels like yesterday. 

I’ve missed Ink more than anything.  My horse who had my heart and soul, who was my life.  Loss is never easy, it never will be.  I’d give anything just to see his face again.  I feel empty and I feel as if I have been lead off of one path and onto another, the transition has been good, but is not at all easy and I find myself more sensitive and upset than I have been since I lost Ink.  To go on without this part of me, is just crushing me inside.

I made a new friend, un-expectedly on Sunday.  Four years ago when I knew I wanted an OTTB, I had the support and guidance to a source from a friend.  This friend, lead me to TBFriends, where I then fell in love with Ink, through a photograph over the TBFriends website.  Now, almost the same time of year, four years later, I saw this friend again as I went into her tack shop to buy Errika a new bit.  I told her what had happened to Ink.  She then went on to show me a photograph of a big, dark bay gelding, a friend of her’s had up for adoption locally.  Matt was with me and his first word was “Wow” and mine was mutual.  My friend gave me the ladies number and I called later that day.  I had a feeling I wanted to or was going to see a horse that day.  And when I got ahold of the owner, I was out looking at the horse under an hour later. 

As Matt and I pulled up to the driveway of the barn where this horse was kept, I saw him.  He was tall, proud and struck something in me.  Quite quickly, I knew that this was the horse I was lead to find.  Things fell into place really well, including the fact that the owner knew Matt’s family and that Matt had done work through his employer at this very exact barn only weeks prior. 

The next day, this big, dark bay gelding was at the barn, home.  That fast it happened. 

To give a little insight on this horse,( I have no idea what to name him as of yet!)..  He’s only 3 weeks off the track and came off with a mild bowed tendon on the left front.  He’s 4 years old, 16.3hh and overall just a big horse.  He has an innocent, sweet disposition with personality.

I was expecting an OTTB to come into my life really.  If it did it was supposed to happen, but I was not exactly out there looking at off track horses, especially this fresh.

My aunt, who I share many similarities with, found out I had gotten a new horse.  She asked my mom about it and as my mom starts to show her a photo and explain, my aunt is shocked.  My mom told me that my aunt dreamed about my new horse being a dark bay with the white markings on the face, almost identical to what the horse looks like.  Talk about way cool and crazy!

I also want to update on Errika, who’s been my rock of a horse for 7+ years now.  I am thankful and lucky to have her through everything and I am so happy to be enjoying a little fun with her.  – We are going to a play-day/schooling show this weekend!  I have no idea what we’re going to do, but I’m excited.  She’s looking great, feeling great and I’m just so happy to have her!  Love you my girl.

Picture of the new horse.  More to come, I couldn’t upload the rest for some reason?

    

5 thoughts on “A Month Past.

  1. Keri,I am so shocked and sorry to hear about the loss of your horse Ink. I can't even imagine what you have been going. He was a stunningly beautiful horse and I admired how great you were together the few times I saw you riding him. It's great that you have recorded so many moments of your life together. I hope this new horse gives you as many wonderful times…Michelle

  2. OH!!! I'm sooo happy to hear this fine news Keri girl!I am also so glad you could get that 1 photo of him there…he seems to be looking at Ink In the sidebar! Sweet profile of such a handsome man -that will fill you up and take you in! he will say “Stick by me”!That was a lovely OTTB name I adored…our first roommate when we boarded. We all called him “Stickers”. Wa adored him as well.Tall ,Dark and handsome…a good combo all the way around!Have so much fun at your play day with your mare~XOXOXOKac

  3. Congratulations, Keri! I have become convinced that horses find their way to us, sometimes when we least expect it.Are you going to keep blogging here about your new guy? Just want to know if I need to change my links. Cheers to you and Reason. 🙂

Leave a Reply

